• Please find the pre-proceedings here.
  • We are very happy to announce that Don Syme will be the invited speaker at LDTA 2009. His invited talk is tentatively titled "An Overview of Language Oriented Programming in F# - from ML to Monads to Reflective Schema Compilation".
    Don Syme is a Senior Researcher at Microsoft Research, Cambridge, and is the lead architect on the F# programming language. He is known for his work in bridging academic language research and industrial practice through .NET Generics and F#.
  • LDTA 2009 is organized in cooperation with ACM Sigplan.
  • We thank Eric Van Wyk and the University of Minnesota Software Engineering Center for organizational support.
  • The LDTA 2009 proceedings will be published in ENTCS.
  • The LDTA program is available, with the following list of accepted papers:
    • T. Sloane, L. C. L. Kats and E. Visser. A Pure Object-Oriented Embedding of Attribute Grammars.
    • J. Andersen and C. Brabrand. Syntactic Language Extension via an Algebra of Languages and Transformations.
    • T. Clark and L. Tratt. Formalizing Homogeneous Language Embeddings.
    • A. Riesco and J. Rodriguez-Hortala. A natural implementation of Plural Semantics in Maude. (demonstration)
    • E. Scott and A. Johnstone. GLL Parsing.
    • Y. Mandelbaum and T. Jim. Efficient Earley Parsing with Regular Right-hand Sides.
    • J. Boyland and D. Spiewak. ScalaBison: Recursive Ascent-Descent Parser Generator. (demonstration)
    • T. Allwood and S. Eisenbach. Strengthening the Zipper.
    • A. Baars, D. Swierstra and M. Viera. Typed Transformations of Typed Grammars: The Left Corner Transform.
    • M. Sackman and S. Eisenbach. Safely Speaking in Tongues.
    • M. Herrmannsdoerfer and B. Hummel. Library Concepts for Model Reuse.
    • L. Engelen and M.G.J. van den Brand. Integrating textual and graphical modelling languages.
    • L. C. L. Kats, K. T. Kalleberg and E. Visser. Domain-Specific Languages for Composable Editor Plugins.
    • J. Singer, G. Brown, M. Lujan, A. Pocock and P. Yiapanis. Fundamental Nano-Patterns to Characterize and Classify Java Methods.
    • J. Dennis, E. Jessup and W. Waite. SLAMM - Automating Memory Analysis for Numerical Algorithms.
    • A. H. Bagge and M. Haveraaen. Interfacing Concepts: Why Declaration Style Shouldn't Matter.

Call For Papers 2009

This is the Call For Papers for the Ninth Workshop on Language Descriptions, Tools and Applications (LDTA 2009)

LDTA is a two-day satellite event of ETAPS which takes place on the 28th and 29th March 2009 in York, England.


LDTA is an application and tool oriented forum on meta programming in a broad sense. A meta program is a program that takes other programs as input or output. The focus of LDTA is on generated or otherwise efficiently implemented meta programs, possibly using high level descriptions of programming languages. Tools and techniques presented at LDTA are usually applicable in the context of "Language Workbenches" or "Meta Programming Systems" or simply as parts of advanced programming environments or IDEs. The applications areas include, but are not limited to:

  • Program analysis, transformation, generation and verification
  • Implementation of Domain Specific Languages (both visual and textual)
  • Reverse engineering and reengineering
  • Refactoring and other source-to-source transformations
  • Application modelling (MDE, MDA, Software Factories, Software product lines)
  • Grammar engineering / Grammarware
  • Language definition and language prototyping
  • Debugging, profiling and testing
  • IDE construction
  • Compiler construction

LDTA is a well-established workshop next to other conferences and workshops on (programming) language engineering topics such as SLE and GPCE.LDTA is traditionally a forum where computer science theories are put to the test of real-world software engineering issues, for example by applying:

  • context-free grammars to parser generation for real programming languages,
  • attribute grammars to static analyzer and compiler generation,
  • term rewriting to source-to-source transformation,
  • action semantics to programming language implementation,
  • model checking to software verification.
Note that LDTA solicits submissions from any technological or theoretical domain, as long as the paper is within the application scope.

Submission Procedure and Publication

Submissions in the following categories are admissible:

  • research papers,
  • tool papers,
  • experience papers

The final versions of accepted papers will probably(*) be published in Electronic Notes in Theoretical Computer Science (ENTCS), Elsevier Science, and will be made available during the workshop. (*) Due to organizational changes at Elsevier, publication by ENTCS publication is provisional; another comparable venue will be found otherwise.

Each submission must:

  • clearly and unambiguously state in which of the three categories it falls
  • be original, i.e. not published or submitted elsewhere,
  • contain a clear motivation,
  • contain a thorough analysis of the claimed contributions (for example by comparing to related work),
  • be written in less than 15 pages (research papers and experience reports), or less than 10 pages (tool papers)
  • use the ENTCS style.

The authors of each submission are required to give a presentation at LDTA 2009. The authors of the tool papers are required to include an interactive demonstration in their presentations.

The authors of the best papers will be invited to write a journal version of their paper which will be separately reviewed and, assuming acceptance, be published in journal form. As in past years, this will be done in a special issue devoted to LDTA 2009 of the journal Science of Computer Programming (Elsevier Science).

The authors of the best tool papers will be invited to write a paper and submit the source of code of their tool, which will both be separately reviewed and, assuming acceptance, be published in the special issue on Experimental Software and Toolkits (EST) of the journal Science of Computer Programming (Elsevier Science).

Please submit your abstract and paper using

Program Committee

  • Jurgen Vinju, CWI, Amsterdam (co-chair)
  • Torbjörn Ekman, Oxford, UK (co-chair)
  • Erik Meijer, Microsoft, Redmond, USA
  • Walid Taha, Rice University, Houston USA
  • Bob Fuhrer, IBM TJ Watson, USA
  • Susan Eisenbach, Imperial College, UK
  • Jean-Marie Jacquet, FUNDP, Namur, Belgium
  • Sibylle Schuppe, Chalmers, Sweden
  • Elizabeth Scott, RHUL, UK
  • Robert Grimm, NYU, USA
  • Judith Bishop, Pretoria, South Africa
  • Tudor Girba, Univ of Berne, Switzerland
  • Marjan Mernik, University of Maribor, Slovenia
  • Thomas Dean, Fondazione Bruno Kessler - IRST, Italy
  • Martin Bravenboer, Univ. of Oregon, USA
  • Pierre-Etienne Moreau, INRIA-LORIA, France
  • Gabi Taentzer, Philipps-Universität Marburg, Germany
  • Joao Saraiva, Universidade do Minho, Braga, Portugal
  • Tijs van der Storm, CWI, The Netherlands
  • Stephen Edwards, Columbia University, USA
  • Peter Thiemann, Universität Freiburg, Germany

Important Dates

Abstract submission deadline:Friday November 28th, 2008
Paper submission deadline:Friday December 5th, 2008
Notification of acceptance:Friday February 6th, 2009
Workshop date:28th and 29th March, 2009